Latest Posts

Stay in Touch With Us

Follow us on social

Game Business - ASO

Why ASO Depends on Reviews and Ratings

Why ASO Depends on Reviews and Ratings

 

In couple of our previous posts we mentioned and explained the importance of ASO ( App Store Optimization). We also made a post where we listed some tools you can use if you want to optimize your mobile game/app.

As you probably already know, good ASO leads your mobile game to the top of the charts. It increases the chance of users finding your game and it increases the chance of your game going viral. If you’re a game developer, it’s crucial that you know the importance of ASO and how it’s able to impact your business.

Today, we’re here to explain the importance of ASO reviews and ratings you receive through the app store your game is published on. Reviews and ratings are key components for improving your ASO and here’s what we think.

User Feedback – Comments and Ratings

Online ratings have drastically changed our buying decisions. Imagine you’re buying something from Amazon or eBay. Are you going to buy the first thing you see on the list or are you going to scroll through the page and look at ratings? Everything you see on the internet has reviews and ratings. If you want to travel somewhere, there are ratings, if you want to eat at a restaurant, there are ratings, and the list goes on and on.

According to Bryancaplan, 97% of consumers read online reviews before making a buying decision in 2017. This number alone means that your ratings and reviews will define your mobile game.

Try to remember if you downloaded any apps that had a 3.0 rating on any app store. It’s highly unlikely that you did since those games/apps are not even on the homepage. Over 63% of consumers trust businesses with overall ratings of 4.0 or 4.5 out of 5 stars. So if you developed a mobile game, you better try your best to reach that rating.

Encouraging your users to leave comments and ratings should be included inside your mobile game. It goes without saying that you should push that notification from time to time, not too often. The key point in prompting the user to rate your app is in doing it at the right time. The right time it means after certain accomplishments in your app as passing a level, winning a prize. In this way you are more likely to contact a happy user that will leave a rating. 

Game Business - ASO

Source: Instabug

Being Competitive In a Huge App Market

How to be one step ahead of other game developers that are also trying to get good reviews and ratings? When we open app stores, the only thing we see is the app’s name, the app’s cover picture and the average rating. These 3 things will decide if a potential user even opens your app to see the description of it.

If you have good social proof, you’re already one step ahead. It makes your game competitive and unique. Have in mind that lots of mobile games don’t even have 1 review, so making sure you have at least 30-40 reviews before your game blows up will be enough.

Also it’s important to note that reviews and ratings don’t only impact downloads. They impact the app itself since a lot of people write comments about bugs and crashes. They actually let you know what’s wrong with your mobile game.

We already wrote on our blog that it’s important to find beta testers. And if you’re struggling to find some, here are 5 places where you can find them.

Game Business - ASO

Source: Lynda.com

Good ASO Reviews Don’t Come Overnight

When your game is launched and tested, don’t be afraid to receive mixed comments. There will be users who won’t like your game no matter how hard you try. But making sure those negative comments actually give value to your mobile game is crucial. Positive comments and 5 star ratings are always welcome and you will receive them as well. But having mixed comments only means that you have space to improve and make your mobile game better.

 

Perfect games with 5.0 ratings are hard to find and as much as you should chase that rating, it’s not that easy to reach. Props to you if you manage to do it, it means you’re doing a lot of things right.

Game Business - ASO

Source: Elegant Themes

 

As we already mentioned, ASO depends on reviews and ratings and you should really care about them. Respond to your users, make sure they feel comfortable playing your game, and they will feel comfortable with leaving a rating or a comment.

About The Author

Hi there, my name is Kristian and I'm the editor-in-chief of GameBusiness.net. Over the past 5 years, I've been perfecting my craft in mobile marketing & online media. My other passions are music, guitars, FPS games & tennis. At GameBusiness.net we're covering all you need to know about mobile game business!

Comments

  • furtdso linopv
    December 22, 2018

    My husband and i ended up being quite lucky Louis could deal with his researching with the ideas he acquired from your very own site. It is now and again perplexing to just be handing out methods which often many others may have been trying to sell. So we figure out we now have the writer to appreciate for this. Most of the explanations you’ve made, the easy website menu, the relationships your site make it possible to instill – it’s many amazing, and it’s letting our son in addition to our family consider that the subject is satisfying, which is certainly exceedingly vital. Thank you for all!

  • gamefly
    May 2, 2019

    When someone writes an piece of writing he/she keeps
    the image of a user in his/her mind that how a user can understand it.

    So that’s why this piece of writing is great. Thanks!

  • gamefly free trial
    May 4, 2019

    Hi there, always i used to check weblog posts here in the early hours in the daylight, for the reason that i love to learn more and more.

  • gamefly
    May 5, 2019

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate
    you writing this write-up and also the rest of the website is really good.

  • gamefly
    May 6, 2019

    I have been surfing online greater than 3 hours these days, but I by no means discovered any interesting
    article like yours. It’s beautiful worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content material as you did, the web
    will probably be much more useful than ever before.

  • download minecraft pc
    May 7, 2019

    Hello, the whole thing is going nicely here and ofcourse every
    one is sharing information, that’s truly good, keep up
    writing.

  • I’m extremely pleased to discover this website.

    I wanted to thank you for your time just for this wonderful
    read!! I definitely savored every bit of it and i also have
    you saved to fav to check out new things in your website.

  • Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and also the
    rest of the website is also really good.

  • g
    May 11, 2019

    Hello, I enjoy reading through your post.
    I like to write a little comment to support you.

  • g
    May 13, 2019

    WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for g

  • I’ll right away clutch your rss feed as I can’t to find
    your email subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Kindly permit me know so that I may subscribe.
    Thanks.

  • minecraft for free
    May 16, 2019

    Howdy! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure
    things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any points or suggestions? Many thanks

  • Today, I went to the beachfront with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to
    my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  • Hi friends, its fantastic paragraph regarding teachingand fully defined,
    keep it up all the time.

  • gamefly free trial
    May 22, 2019

    My brother recommended I might like this blog.
    He was entirely right. This post actually made my day.

    You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent
    for this information! Thanks!

  • Thanks for finally writing about >Why ASO Depends on Reviews and
    Ratings – Game Business <Loved it!

  • boekhouder zzp
    May 28, 2019

    Appreciate the recommendation. Let me try it out.

  • Mike
    May 28, 2019

    We are looking for volunteers for our website. Are you interested?

  • du
    May 30, 2019

    How long does a copyright last on newspaper articles?. . If a service copies newspapers articles and then posts it in a database on the Internet, is there also a copyright on the Internet content?.

  • son
    May 30, 2019

    I just want to mention I’m all new to blogs and certainly savored you’re web site. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You surely have good writings. Appreciate it for sharing your web page.

  • pepe
    May 30, 2019

    I just want to mention I’m all new to blogs and certainly savored you’re web site. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You surely have good writings. Appreciate it for sharing your web page.

  • kel
    May 30, 2019

    I just want to say I am very new to blogs and truly savored you’re web site. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You amazingly come with superb articles and reviews. Regards for sharing your webpage.

  • lark
    May 30, 2019

    Amazing blog layout here. Was it hard creating a nice looking website like this?

  • doh
    May 30, 2019

    I just want to mention I’m all new to blogs and certainly savored you’re web site. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You surely have good writings. Appreciate it for sharing your web page.

  • fuck me
    May 30, 2019

    I just want to mention I’m all new to blogs and certainly savored you’re web site. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You surely have good writings. Appreciate it for sharing your web page.

  • ted
    June 7, 2019

    Your website is very good. Love it.

  • cialis
    June 10, 2019

    Amazing blog layout here. Was it hard creating a nice looking website like this?

  • Excellent blog you have got here.. It’s hard to find excellent
    writing like yours nowadays. I really appreciate people like you!

    Take care!!

  • After exploring a handful of the blog articles on your website, I seriously appreciate your way of
    writing a blog. I book marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my web site as well and tell me how you feel.

  • quest bars cheap
    June 14, 2019

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I
    stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always exciting to read through content from other authors and use a little something from other websites.

  • quest bars cheap
    June 15, 2019

    What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively helpful and it
    has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & aid other customers
    like its helped me. Good job.

  • quest bars
    June 16, 2019

    I used to be able to find good advice from your blog
    articles.

  • wo
    June 20, 2019

    How long does a copyright last on newspaper articles?. . If a service copies newspapers articles and then posts it in a database on the Internet, is there also a copyright on the Internet content?.

  • Hello, its good paragraph regarding media print, we all
    be aware of media is a wonderful source of data.

  • quest bars cheap
    June 23, 2019

    I have read so many content concerning the blogger lovers but this post is
    really a good piece of writing, keep it up.

  • re
    June 24, 2019

    I am usually to running a blog and i actually recognize your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information.

  • dorem
    June 24, 2019

    thank you web site admin

  • kuk
    June 24, 2019

    thank you web site admin

  • starcild
    June 28, 2019

    I just want to say I am very new to blogs and truly savored you’re web site. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You amazingly come with superb articles and reviews. Regards for sharing your webpage.

  • liseli child
    June 30, 2019

    I am not very superb with English but I find this very easygoing to translate.

  • dadi child
    June 30, 2019

    I am usually to running a blog and i actually recognize your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information.

  • childse
    June 30, 2019

    I just want to say I am very new to blogs and truly savored you’re web site. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You amazingly come with superb articles and reviews. Regards for sharing your webpage.

  • ex
    June 30, 2019

    thank you web site admin

  • prevartif
    June 30, 2019

    thank you web site admin

  • video
    July 1, 2019

    thank you web site admin

  • meavi childs
    July 4, 2019

    thank you web site admin

  • seo agency midlands
    July 4, 2019

    Parasite backlink SEO works well 🙂

  • data togel sd
    July 6, 2019

    I will immediately snatch your rss as I can’t to find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly let me understand in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  • yag childs
    July 6, 2019

    I just want to say I am very new to blogs and truly savored you’re web site. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You amazingly come with superb articles and reviews. Regards for sharing your webpage.

  • antalya escort
    July 6, 2019

    antalya escort bayanların sikiştikleri siteler bura hıammına

  • escort antalya
    July 7, 2019

    antalya escort bayanlarla humpakiyi domaltıp sikişler

  • antalya escort bayan
    July 7, 2019

    viagrayı içip humpakiye kaldırıp yapıştırıken alınan keyeeeef

  • kar childs
    July 7, 2019

    thank you web site admin

  • livedraw syd
    July 7, 2019

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and the rest of the site is very good.

  • Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site
    with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the
    information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Exceptional blog and excellent style and design.

  • quest bars
    July 11, 2019

    I visited multiple web sites however the audio quality
    for audio songs existing at this website is in fact excellent.

  • childs prns
    July 16, 2019

    I just want to mention I’m all new to blogs and certainly savored you’re web site. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You surely have good writings. Appreciate it for sharing your web page.

  • tatol childs
    July 16, 2019

    I am usually to running a blog and i actually recognize your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information.

  • childs prns
    July 16, 2019

    How long does a copyright last on newspaper articles?. . If a service copies newspapers articles and then posts it in a database on the Internet, is there also a copyright on the Internet content?.

  • tatol childs
    July 16, 2019

    Your positions continually have got a lot of really up to date info. Where do you come up with this? Just saying you are very resourceful. Thanks again

  • We’re a bunch of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our
    community. Your web site offered us with helpful information to work on. You have performed a formidable task and our
    whole community shall be grateful to you.

  • vaigra online
    July 17, 2019

    I just want to mention I’m all new to blogs and certainly savored you’re web site. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You surely have good writings. Appreciate it for sharing your web page.

  • vaigra online
    July 17, 2019

    Amazing blog layout here. Was it hard creating a nice looking website like this?

  • whoah this blog is magnificent i really like reading your posts.
    Stay up the good work! You understand, a lot of persons are searching around for this information, you could help
    them greatly.

  • pedofili
    July 18, 2019

    thank you web site admin

  • pisk childs
    July 18, 2019

    thank you web site admin

  • Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate
    your efforts and I will be waiting for your next post thanks once again.

Post a Comment

You don't have permission to register